Sochi Winter Olympics: Aerial Skiing In The Fog

It was cold up at aerial ski training, the first time I’ve felt sub-zero temperatures in days. My boss wanted pictures of aerial skiing in daylight and at night, so I had to stick around for the full two-hour session to catch the action after dark.

Aerial skiing is that sport where they hoon it down a hill, slide up a near vertical ramp, catapulting themselves 6m into the air, perform half a dozen complicated spins before landing on steep slope below. My boyfriend calls them the geeks of the freestyle skiing world. But talented geeks at that.

As the sun set, the number of photographers petered out until it was just me stood next to the sliders at the side of the piste. They’d built a mini-kicker to entertain themselves – about 1ft high – which they were unsuccessfully trying to backflip off.

I was armed with a new camera, borrowed from a Nikon shop in the media centre that lends camera equipment to photographers. Hard to believe that I’ve only just discovered this place. You can choose any camera or lens and they’ll lend it to you for free. I’ve now got myself a D800 with an 80-400mm lens.

Just a small upgrade

Just a small upgrade

Fog started to creep over the top of the piste, transforming the mountain into a scene from a horror film. It was getting colder and I was becoming more impatient, feeling narked that I was the only photographer left. As I snapped away, I started to notice that the fog was having a pretty cool effect on the light. Worth sticking around for in the end!

Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 09.33.33Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 09.34.48 Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 09.35.29 Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 09.33.49 Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 09.34.08 Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 09.35.18

Leave a Reply

